Australian Multicultural Council

The Australian Multicultural Council is a ministerially-appointed body that provides advice to the Government on multicultural affairs policy and programmes, with a particular focus on:

  • Harnessing the economic and social benefits of Australia’s culturally diverse population.
  • Celebrating diversity, promoting social acceptance and fostering engagement with Australian values, identity and citizenship, within the framework of Australian law.
  • Building stronger and more cohesive communities and addressing barriers to participation, including racism and discrimination.
  • Promoting greater intercultural and interfaith understanding and dialogue.
  • Empowering civil society through partnerships with the business sector and harnessing the experience of established communities in developing the capacity of newer communities.

The Government may request the Council take on specific additional responsibilities in response to emerging multicultural policy issues.

The current term of the AMC is from 16 December 2014 – 16 December 2017.

AMC Members

The AMC currently consists of six members including:

  • Dr Sev Ozdowski OAM, Chair
  • Dr Bulent Hass Dellal OAM
  • Ms Helena Kyriazopoulos
  • Ms Faiza Rehman
  • Mr Vasan Srinivasan
  • Ms Charlotte Vidor

Latest media releases from the AMC