Council members

Biographical information on previous AMC Members

The previous AMC consisted of nine members, including: a youth member and two ex officio members (the Race Discrimination Commissioner and the Secretary of the Department of Social Services).

The Chair of the council was Judge Rauf Soulio, South Australian District Court Judge, and Ms Gail Ker OAM, the CEO of ACCESS Community Services Limited in Queensland, was Deputy Chair.

Judge Rauf Soulio (Former Chair) (SA)
Judge of the District Court of South Australia

Judge Soulio is President of the Football Federation of South Australia and the current Chair of the Migrant Resource Centre of South Australia. He was appointed to the C20 (civil society 20) steering committee group for the G20 in July 2013. He was also recently appointed to the Council for the Order of Australia. He is on the Judging Panel of the Governor’s Multicultural Awards program and Chair of State Government Sporting Advisory Committees. In 2003, he was appointed as Honorary Consul-General for Albania in Australia and is active in the Albanian community. Judge Soulio was the Deputy Chair of the Australian Multicultural Advisory Council until June 2011.

Ms Gail Ker OAM (Former Deputy Chair) (QLD)
CEO, Logan and Beenleigh Migrant Resource Centre (ACCESS Community Services Limited)

Ms Ker has worked extensively in multicultural affairs positions and is presently a board member of the Ethnic Communities Council in Queensland. She is also Deputy Chair of the Logan and Redlands Regional Development Australia Board. Ms Ker has been actively involved in labour market programs such as SkillShare, and played a key role in developing and leading a community-based non-government organisation in Logan, Queensland. She was Chair and Vice Chair of the Settlement Council of Australia and was a member of the Australian Multicultural Advisory Council from January 2009 until June 2011. Ms Ker was also named a Paul Harris Fellow by Rotary International in August 2011.

Ms Yassmin Abdel-Magied (QLD)
President, Youth Without Borders (Qld)

Ms Abdel-Magied is the founder of Youth Without Borders and a mechanical engineer working as an oil and gas field engineer. Yassmin graduated valedictorian from mechanical engineering at the University of Queensland in 2011. She is a member of the Board of the Queensland Museum, the Queensland Design Council and the Queensland African Communities Council. Ms Abdel-Magied was Young Australian Muslim of the Year for 2007, the Young Queenslander of the Year in 2010 and in 2012 named the joint winner of the ‘Young Leader’ category in Australia’s 100 Women of Influence by Westpac and the Australian Financial Review.

Dr Tanveer Ahmed (NSW)
Psychiatrist, Author and Councillor (Liberal)

Dr Tanveer Ahmed is a published author and has present and past involvement in several Boards, including the Australian Medical Association, the Advertising Standards Board and as a Governor of the Smith Family. Dr Ahmed manages a private practice with an interest in transcultural clients both in western Sydney and in Armidale in rural New South Wales. He is of Bangladeshi ancestry.

Dr Hass Dellal OAM (VIC)
Executive Director, Australian Multicultural Foundation

Dr Dellal has considerable experience in multicultural affairs and sits on several boards, including the National Centre of Excellence for Islamic Studies Consultative Committee; the International Steering Committee, the International Metropolis Project (Canada); Deputy Chair of the Victoria Police Multifaith Council; and Chair of the Centre for Multicultural Youth. He is Deputy Chair of the SBS Board and was a member of the Australian Multicultural Advisory Council until June 2011.

Ms Carmel Guerra (VIC)
Chief Executive Officer of the Centre for Multicultural Youth

Ms Guerra was founder of the Centre for Multicultural Youth, a community-based organisation in Melbourne that advocates for the needs of young people from refugee and migrant backgrounds. She received the Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to young people, and entered into the Victorian Women’s Honour role for services to the community in 2005. Ms Guerra is a member of a range of boards including the Refugee Resettlement Advisory Council, Victorian Youth Parole Board, and the Migration Council Australia.

Mr Peter Wertheim AM (NSW)
Executive Director, Executive Council of Australian Jewry

Mr Wertheim was a practising solicitor for more than 30 years, consultant to law firm Slater and Gordon, and is the Executive Director of the Executive Council of Australian Jewry. He was honorary solicitor for the East Timor Relief Association, the Australian International Fund for Disadvantaged Children in Vietnam, and Aboriginal Medical Service Co-operative, Redfern NSW.

Prof Samina Yasmeen (WA)
Director of the Centre for Muslim States and Societies and Professor of Political Science and International Relations at the University of Western Australia

Professor Yasmeen is a specialist in political and strategic development in South Asia, the role of Islam in world politics, and citizenship among immigrant women. She was a member of the Australian Multicultural Advisory Council from January 2009 until June 2011. Professor Yasmeen was granted the Sir Roland Wilson Leadership Award as part of the WA Citizen of the Year awards in 2011, and inducted into the WA Women’s Hall of Fame in 2011. She was also elected as the Fellow of the Australian Institute of International Affairs in 2012.

Mr Talal Yassine OAM (NSW)
Managing Director Crescent Wealth; Director Australia Post; Professorial Fellow Australian National University

Mr Yassine has held a number of executive and non executive roles during his career. He was a Director of Babcock & Brown Limited, director/lawyer at PricewaterhouseCoopers and a Solicitor in the Corporate Practice at Dunhill Madden Butler.

Ex Officio Members

Mr Finn Pratt PSM (ACT)
Secretary of the Department of Social Services

Mr Pratt was appointed Secretary of the Department of Social Services in September 2013. He has 30 years’ experience in the public service, including in developing employment policies and managing labour market services and programs. In 2011, Mr Pratt was appointed Secretary of the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs. Prior to this he was Secretary of the Department of Human Services and the CEO of Centrelink.

Mr Pratt was awarded a Public Service Medal in 2008 for driving significant and innovative reforms to public employment services and workplace relations in Australia. He has a Bachelor of Arts (political science) from the Australian National University.

Dr Tim Soutphommasane (NSW)
Race Discrimination Commissioner, the Australian Human Rights Commission

Prior to his appointment as Race Discrimination Commissioner in August 2013, Dr Soutphommasane was a sitting member of the Australian Multicultural Council and Postdoctoral Fellow at the Institute for Democracy and Human Rights, University of Sydney. Dr Soutphommasane is a political philosopher and the author of Don’t Go Back To Where You Came From (2012), The Virtuous Citizen (2012) and Reclaiming Patriotism (2009). He completed his doctorate at the University of Oxford.